COME SAY HELLO TO A FRIEND!

You have searched me and known me. 

You know my sitting down and my rising up; you understand my thought afar off. 

You comprehend my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. 

For there is not a word on my tongue, but behold, You know it altogether. 

You have hedged me behind and before, and laid Your hand upon me. 

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high, I cannot attain it.

If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. 

If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 

Even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me. 

How precious also are Your thoughts to me,

How great is the sum of them!  

If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand; when I awake, I am still with You.

Hi there! It’s been a while, yet it’s good to have you around still. Today, in the spirit of the season, I’ll have you understand briefly the love and friendship we have in Christ and this I have entitled Come Say Hello To A Friend.

Dear Purple Reader, in spite of our weaknesses and failings, God is unrelenting with love. Christ maintained a strong personal relationship with God, from which to fulfill His commitments to His friends. He loved us, for he laid down His life for us.

It will also amaze you to know that Christ was regard as a friend of sinners, as He subjected Himself to living in a fallen world to be in a relationship with the world:

The Son of Man came eating and drinking, and they say, ‘Look at him! A glutton and a drunkard, a friend of tax collectors and sinners!’ Yet wisdom is justified by her deeds. [Matthew 11:19]

For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. [Romans 5:6-8]

Jesus made it clear that He had come to seek and to save the lost [Luke 19:10] 

Being a “friend of sinners,” Jesus showed that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance [Romans 2:4] 

As a believer, you are automatically a friend of Jesus. We will recall that Jesus called His disciples friends rather than servants, He will not call them servants, though they call Him Master and Lord. He also went on to entrust them with everything He had heard from His Father in [John 15:15]. He trusted the disciples to use the information for the good of His Father’s kingdom:

No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. [John 15:15 ]

He celebrated with them and shared a common life without holding back.

These other bible verses may also interest you:
Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.
[John 15:13]

A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. [Proverbs 18:24]

You are my friends if you do what I command you. [John 15:14]

A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity. [Proverbs 17:17]  

And the Scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”—and he was called a friend of God. [James 2:23]


For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him
. [John 3:16-17]

Sweet thought it is. We have a friend above!

Thanks for spending time with me. Do drop a comment; sharing with us how this truth shapes you.

Until next time, have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

