A GOOD OR A GOD CHOICE? 

Over the past years of my life I have seen my dreams shift over and over again. I wanted to dance, I wanted to feature in movies, I wanted to write songs and so on (this doesn’t mean I can’t still do all of these). But I had to make a choice. A life choice. A life changing choice.

Dear Purple Reader, it is to this end I intend to drive home today’s piece, A Good or A God Choice? We all have dreams/ambitions and then we have what is called purpose. It is pertinent to know that these two differ. I’ll explain…

While ambition makes one decide about what direction and what activities they will spend their lives doing, purpose on the other hand is the decision to live life based on the reason you were made.

Simply put, ambition leaves you wondering what life is about and purpose assures you that live has meaning.

Dear Purple Woman

While my dreams were shifting, I felt like my dreams were being snatched from me, perhaps you feel the same way too, but here’s the thing:

No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him. [1 Corinthians 2:9]

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” [Jeremiah 29:11]

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called accepting to His purpose. [Romans 8:28]

So often our dreams are too small for God to fit into them, but what God wants is for us to hand them over to Him, letting go of our plans to become what God has called us to be.

We are God’s and we should adjust our lives to what He is about to do. First when I started this blog, I was confused about what I wanted to do with it. I was going to make it a little bit of “feminism” thing, but I waited and tilted towards God’s plan, gave up my initial intention, and then, everything became glaring, and there you have @dearpurplewoman being what it is today.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways”, declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” [Isaiah 55:8-9] 

Trust in the Lord with ALL your heart; and lean not unto your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. [Proverbs 3:5-6]

Usually when we keep God out, we try to find fulfillment in some other things, but we never get enough. Being in a relationship with God is the only thing that will ultimately satisfy and bring fulfillment to man.

Most times, I am misunderstood because I chose to go the God’s way instead of my way. But I insisted that I rather be misunderstood than walk out of God’s plan for my life. I had to choose a new subject, a new theme, a new audience, and so much more and it’s been great.

Today I have found so much joy. I have found fulfillment and great satisfaction in doing what I do. Now, I know where I am going, I know what God wants of me.

You may also like: THIS IS THE WAY

It’s left to you friend to find out what God’s plan is for you and stick to it, knowing fully well that outside of God, there’s no fulfillment of any kind and God will not force us to go His way, it’s a free world.

Thanks for spending time with me again.

Drop a comment on how this truth shapes you.

Until next time, have a great day.

5 thoughts on “A GOOD OR A GOD CHOICE? 

  1. Nice one DPWriter.
    God will never impose on us, He has given us ability to choose. It’s now our choice to either go for what’s goodly without fulfilment or what’s Godly with fulfilment. If it’s indeed godly, there are goodly traits in it.
    Moreover, we should check our elements and motives of what we consider goodly if it’s not only chasing after wind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

